Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Fallout 2 Map Editor

  1. #1
    I've been around First time out of the vault

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Spokanistan
    Posts
    34
    Total Downloaded
    0

    Fallout 2 Map Editor

    Maybe someone here knows... But I just got the Fallout 2 Mapper and i was wondering how to upload critters, tiles, the whole nine yards... So I can use the stuff I have gotten and put it in there to make my own story for the fallout universe.

    Also, I'm sure I already know the answer to this second question... But I'm wondering after I've gotten that stuff into the mapper and completed the maps etc, Do I need to put that new stuff into the fallout 2 data folder?
    Kimmy: I knew these one guys that came from a vault... Think it was 213, I dunno, don't really care either... anyways they were as dumb as fucking rocks. They were calling caravans carnivals or circuses or some dumb shit like that and they were calling the people in the caravans carnies... I wasn't expecting them to last long in the waste lands... I saw them call a Deathclaw an overgrown komodo dragon and that Deathclaw shredded them to peices. The biggest peices left of them after that was a finger and a toe. Only goes to show that the wastelands don't appreciate stupidity.

  2. #2
    Modder A Smooth-Skin

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    677
    Total Downloaded
    0

    Re: Fallout 2 Map Editor

    Quote Originally Posted by elira-lena
    Maybe someone here knows... But I just got the Fallout 2 Mapper and i was wondering how to upload critters, tiles, the whole nine yards... So I can use the stuff I have gotten and put it in there to make my own story for the fallout universe.

    Also, I'm sure I already know the answer to this second question... But I'm wondering after I've gotten that stuff into the mapper and completed the maps etc, Do I need to put that new stuff into the fallout 2 data folder?
    Your questions are really one question, or at least the answer to question 1 will answer question 2.

    In fact, you don't upload things to the mapper. The mapper pulls data out of your data folder. So you actually need to add stuff to the data folder to use them in the mapper.

    For example, in order to create new scenery (new scenery meaning new art and new object) in the Mapper, you first need to have the art in FRM format. Use Frame Animator to convert bmp/gif files to frm. Then put the converted file in data/art/scenery. You need to open scenery.lst file found in that same folder and type in the name of the art file at the end of the list and leave an empty line at the end. Save lst file.

    Open mapper, go to scenery palette, cycle to the end (END button) and choose the empty square on the palette. Click EDIT button and add the new scenery prototype using new art. Click SAVE.

    Note that you need to setup the mapper for adding new objects without problems. Create a folder named Fallout2 in the root of the drive that you have Fallout 2 installed on. Once in the folder re-create this folder tree:

    HTML Code:
    Fallout2
       -> dev
          -> proto
             -> critters
             -> items
             -> misc
             -> scenery
             -> tiles
             -> walls
    Finally, open mapper2.cfg and set the line Librarian to 1.

    Now, when you have created your new scenery, make sure to set its attribute in data/proto/scenery to "read only". If you don't do this, the game will delete the proto file once you run it (the game, not the mapper).

    That's it for starters. You will find answers to all your future questions on these forums. Just use the "search" function. Also, don't forget to check out this page. And this.

    And the final thing - a Fallout map without scripting is pretty much useless. So if you think about making a mod - find a scripter or better, learn to script yourself. Many projects here are in dire need of (more) scripters, so if you can learn it, you'll be a valuable asset to the community.

    Anyway, hope this helps. Have fun modding.

  3. #3
    I've been around First time out of the vault

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Spokanistan
    Posts
    34
    Total Downloaded
    0
    n.n THANK YOU!!!
    Kimmy: I knew these one guys that came from a vault... Think it was 213, I dunno, don't really care either... anyways they were as dumb as fucking rocks. They were calling caravans carnivals or circuses or some dumb shit like that and they were calling the people in the caravans carnies... I wasn't expecting them to last long in the waste lands... I saw them call a Deathclaw an overgrown komodo dragon and that Deathclaw shredded them to peices. The biggest peices left of them after that was a finger and a toe. Only goes to show that the wastelands don't appreciate stupidity.

  4. #4
    The Desert Wolf AWOOO! Vault Dweller
    Gaspard's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Barracks
    Posts
    753
    Total Downloaded
    0
    Rather than starting another one I found this thread and will resurrect it.

    Point is - I can not get my own custom scenery .FRMs into mapper.
    I tried in various ways and inbetween tries did a clean reinstall, even.

    I did everything step-by-step as Ardent has put it, but either that way or any other I cannot get the .frm to show up on the mapper.

    I edited the scenery.lst file, put the .frm into it's place nad edited the empty scenery slot through mapper, but my frm still does not show up there.
    At first I created the necessary folders where I put my files, I even tried dropping them into their place in the MASTER.DAT. Nothing _

    Am I missing something ?

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Lived Through the Heat Death
    Lexx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    8,161
    Total Downloaded
    0
    You have to add the graphic to the right directory. Scenery to scenery, items to items, inventory images to inven, etc. Also file name should be no longer than 8 signs maximum.

    Also you have to add the frm to the *.lst file in the folder or it will never be visible anyway.

  6. #6
    The Desert Wolf AWOOO! Vault Dweller
    Gaspard's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Barracks
    Posts
    753
    Total Downloaded
    0

    HALP :(

    Theanks for the reply, although I think I do have the most basic understanding of what goes where

    Okay, here's the step by step of what I did:

    1. Installed FO2,
    2. Installed mapper, patched it for cities (at one point tried without the patch too, vanilla mapper and everything)
    3. For testing purposes I modified existing scenery frms by first FRM>BMP, then using photoshop magic on them and then back BMP>FRM-ing them with the utility.
    4. I named it cavel.frm, added that name to the end of scenery.lst
    5. Using the utility I imported the cavel.frm and scenery.lst both into master.dat .../art/scenery/
    6. created the folder structure Ardent has mentioned bove to the root directory of my drive
    7. edited the mapper2 config file by changing librarian value to 1
    8. ran mapper, chose the screnery tab, fastforwarded to the end of the list (checked every damn one on the way), chose the empty slot, edited it - and zip zap zup NOTHING


    After messing with it for HOURS, going through a multitude of FAQ's and tutorials (some of which are rather vague, I should add...), I added the RP to fallout, tried to replicate their folder structure here and there and just. Well. I wouldn't be here if that would have been of any help.

    I'd appreciate it if anybody could spot a mis-step in my tries and help a guy out

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Lived Through the Heat Death
    Lexx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    8,161
    Total Downloaded
    0
    5. Using the utility I imported the cavel.frm and scenery.lst both into master.dat .../art/scenery/
    You don't have to do that.

    Just in case: If you edit a proto entry, you *do* click the top right image to the far end of the list / the graphic you want it to look like? Because there seriously isn't much that one can do wrong. If you have the graphic in the correct folder and added the name to the *.lst file, it is recognized by the game and mapper. There isn't anything else to do.

  8. #8
    The Desert Wolf AWOOO! Vault Dweller
    Gaspard's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Barracks
    Posts
    753
    Total Downloaded
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Lexx
    5. Using the utility I imported the cavel.frm and scenery.lst both into master.dat .../art/scenery/
    You don't have to do that.

    Just in case: If you edit a proto entry, you *do* click the top right image to the far end of the list / the graphic you want it to look like? Because there seriously isn't much that one can do wrong. If you have the graphic in the correct folder and added the name to the *.lst file, it is recognized by the game and mapper. There isn't anything else to do.
    Hmm, so to be sure: where exactly do I put those two files ?

  9. #9
    Modder Vault Senior Citizen
    lisac2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    XXV Century
    Posts
    1,147
    Total Downloaded
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Gaspard
    Hmm, so to be sure: where exactly do I put those two files ?
    In their respective directories.

    Just stick to the file structure provided in master.dat and critter.dat and you can't make a mistake. This is a thumb-rule for each and every content file you're about to change or add.

    If not sure what I'm talking about, try unpacking those two dat files and see for yourself.

  10. #10
    The Desert Wolf AWOOO! Vault Dweller
    Gaspard's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Barracks
    Posts
    753
    Total Downloaded
    0
    Bloody hell. No luck whatsoever _ I can't even understand what I'm doing wrong.
    Tired of trying for today, so I'll probably look into it again tomorrow.

    Anyhow thanks guys for your time !

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions