Fallout 1 mod FO1 to FO2 conversion, for real

Discussion in 'Fallout General Modding' started by Dude101, Nov 27, 2007.

  1. Timeslip

    Timeslip Water Chip? Been There, Done That
    Modder

    Aug 15, 2007
    None taken. There's a reason I said relying on it would be a bad idea. :p (Which is a shame, because in dx9 mode you can use avi movies and other fancy things, on top of a few extra script functions. :/)

    Are you trying to use it together with the high res patch though? That's normally what kills the performance. Using the gpublt option can help.

    Not at the moment, but give me half an hour and it will be able to. :p Will have to wait till I'm back from work though.
     
  2. NovaRain

    NovaRain Casual Modder Modder

    Mar 10, 2007
    Is it possible to restore/add back the dotted trail effect like in FO1?
    Honestly that's the first thing I miss when I played FO2 in the first time. :P
     
  3. Sduibek

    Sduibek Creator of Fallout Fixt Moderator Modder

    Oct 27, 2010
    Nice. Thanks! :D

    Oh that's right. Forgot about that one somehow, it's added to the list now.
     
  4. SorgFall

    SorgFall Still Mildly Glowing

    Jul 2, 2007
    Plus, I've liked overall the screens in F1 a lot more than in F2. I suppose that a conversion would have to do with the more tribal lookout, instead of the original?
    But that's just being my usual nit-picking now... :P
     
  5. Sduibek

    Sduibek Creator of Fallout Fixt Moderator Modder

    Oct 27, 2010
    When you say "screens" do you mean the visual user interface? Because that all will look the same. I've copied over all the ones from Fallout 1, and the handful that can't just be copied over, we will simply make them ourselves.
     
  6. Timeslip

    Timeslip Water Chip? Been There, Done That
    Modder

    Aug 15, 2007
    ok, uploaded sfall 2.19. It actually took 40 mins... I overran a little. :/

    You need to add MainMenuOffsetX=xxx and MainMenuOffsetY=yyy to ddraw.ini to move the text and buttons around.

    That's harder. :/ If the code is still there inactive somewhere then it would be easy, if only I knew where to look. If it's not, it'll be pretty complicated...
     
  7. Sduibek

    Sduibek Creator of Fallout Fixt Moderator Modder

    Oct 27, 2010
    :notworthy:


    EDIT: Current Issues post updated.

    EDIT2: What are your thoughts on this? Would it be hard to support the start-year of Fallout 1 in this feature? Also is there a mostly accepted "best" way to apply this setting? I assume -3?

     
  8. Timeslip

    Timeslip Water Chip? Been There, Done That
    Modder

    Aug 15, 2007
    That's for the time limit. You probably don't want to mess with that. As lexx said, the ddraw.ini lines you need for changing the start date are

    the dates mentioned in the time limit setting will automagically fix themselves to match. From a better safe than sorry perspective, I would advise against removing the 13 year time limit by default. It might interact badly with any scripts that pay attention to the current time. But if you do want to do it, -3 is the 'best' setting.
     
  9. Sduibek

    Sduibek Creator of Fallout Fixt Moderator Modder

    Oct 27, 2010
    Ah! Fantastic.

    EDIT: Automagically, haha. I love that one. :mrgreen:

    Fair enough and thanks for the suggestion. Maybe I'll put it as optional checkbox in the installer, with note in the installer and readme/FAQ that it can cause issues if they enable it (disable the limit).
     
  10. Sduibek

    Sduibek Creator of Fallout Fixt Moderator Modder

    Oct 27, 2010
    Does anyone know if Fallout 2 has certain Global Variables "reserved" as hard-coded?

    I ask because the global var (Vault13.gam) file from Jordan is kind of crazy. There's thousands of entries, most of which say "RESERVED", and the numbers differ from Fallout 1 (which only uses 1 through about 630)

    I guess what I'm asking is, if I just use 1 through 630-something like F1, would that cause issues? I don't think it should, but.... :shrug:
     
  11. Lexx

    Lexx Background Radiant
    Moderator

    Apr 24, 2005
    Nope, they are only what they are called: reserved variables. I'll guess they did this for later patches, bugfixes, possible addons, etc. because as soon as you are adding a new global var, your savegame isn't compatible anymore (if I remember correct). So these reserved variables would be the way out for such situations.
     
  12. gvx

    gvx First time out of the vault

    Apr 4, 2008
    Good Job

    MainMenuCreditsOffsetX=-5
    MainMenuCreditsOffsetY=0
    MainMenuOffsetX=395
    MainMenuOffsetY=27

    https://dl.dropbox.com/u/69453016/scr00002.JPG

    But I like it

    https://dl.dropbox.com/u/69453016/scr00003.JPG
     
  13. Nineeva

    Nineeva First time out of the vault

    Aug 20, 2009
    Here is a quick question, do you plan to make it possible to continue playing after the end using the function that does this in fallout 2 or at least plan to make this optional in your release? Also assuming you do this will it be simple to put a trigger which then freezes the invasions at which ever stage they had reached when you completed the game.

    i.e. have the followers and Necropolis destroyed but so Junktown and the Hub stay uninvaded indefinitly since the master and VAT's have been eleminated?
     
  14. SorgFall

    SorgFall Still Mildly Glowing

    Jul 2, 2007
    Oh...I had no idea, sorry! :shock:

    Wow...I mean I could never even begin to think that a total conversion was even theoretically possible (save if you've got an army of professional programmers behind your back).

    Congrats :clap: on your efforts so far and best wishes whatever whenever you decide; you've made a very bold move. [/i]
     
  15. Sduibek

    Sduibek Creator of Fallout Fixt Moderator Modder

    Oct 27, 2010
    Playing after the game ends should be easier I think, since Fallout 2 did this whereas Corpse had to make a script-&-dialog hack for it.

    On your other thing, that's a good idea, I'll add it to the list.
     
  16. Sduibek

    Sduibek Creator of Fallout Fixt Moderator Modder

    Oct 27, 2010
    1) Anyone modders who are familiar with it-- can the endgame prompt be customized? I assume it's just triggered by certain meta flags or global variables. Thanks. I guess I could make the Vats and MB use the same global variables as the ones that trigger endgame in Fallout 2...

    2) Also, the Can_Rest_Here entries in worldmap.txt, are these seriously a boolean? Why can't we set it that the player can't rest there unless all non-allied critters are dead? Fallout has always done really weird shit with this setting and it never made sense to me.

    3) What do we think of changing location size circles like Fallout 2 does? For example the Vaults would probably be Small (because it is a tiny cave entrace or shack, repectively), smaller towns would be Medium circle size, etc.

     
  17. Lexx

    Lexx Background Radiant
    Moderator

    Apr 24, 2005
    Looks good to me. But the colors of your screenshot are really off.
     
  18. Sduibek

    Sduibek Creator of Fallout Fixt Moderator Modder

    Oct 27, 2010
    LOL yeah. Been lazy, haven't properly set up f2_res and ddraw with it yet. :roll:
     
  19. Sduibek

    Sduibek Creator of Fallout Fixt Moderator Modder

    Oct 27, 2010
    Setting those entries in City.txt to "On" doesn't work. For example if i set all four to On for Vault 13, once I leave the cave and come back, I don't have the options, it just drops me in the Cavern Entrance.

    Then the *next* time I visit it, I get the option of all four levels.

    So, as far as I can see this is either a map file issue, or just some internal quirk that, I assume, can be circumvented with the Sfall scripting stuff?

    Code:
    [Area 00]                
    area_name=Vault 13
    world_pos=823,72
    start_state=On
    size=Small
    townmap_art_idx=469     
    townmap_label_art_idx=481
    entrance_0=On,214,309,V13ENT,0,25936,0
    entrance_1=On,283,288,VAULT13,0,14104,0
    entrance_2=On,304,243,VAULT13,1,22504,0
    entrance_3=On,321,210,VAULT13,2,17312,0
    -----------

    Where do we edit the text for Archives (movie) entries in Pipboy? I can't find them.

    -----------

    Current Issues post updated.
     
  20. Nineeva

    Nineeva First time out of the vault

    Aug 20, 2009
    Great, that would be awesome and really appreciate the hard work you guys are putting in to this for everyone else!