Fallout 1 mod FO1 to FO2 conversion, for real

Discussion in 'Fallout General Modding' started by Dude101, Nov 27, 2007.

  1. Lexx

    Lexx Background Radiant
    Moderator

    Apr 24, 2005
    Burrows?


    By the way, for a while I "deleted" all the towns (green circles) from the fallout 1 worldmap because I was bored and thought about using it in a mod. If I can find it again, I will cut it in parts and include it in fallout 2. As far as I can see, the positions of the towns are all correct in this mod.
     
  2. Dude101

    Dude101 Vault Fossil
    Modder

    Aug 3, 2005
  3. Lexx

    Lexx Background Radiant
    Moderator

    Apr 24, 2005
    Ah k, I thought about the name, but couldn't assign it. ;)
     
  4. Dracon M'Alkir

    Dracon M'Alkir Vault Senior Citizen

    Jul 19, 2004
    Thanks, modification works suprisingly well. All of the locations are exactly the same as in the first game, including world map, etc.

    Quests and experience work too..

    :D
     
  5. Lexx

    Lexx Background Radiant
    Moderator

    Apr 24, 2005
    I cuted the worldmap into the right peaces and tested it. But there is one big problem: the color palette doesn't fit like it should. Has anyone an idea for fixing this?

    Screens:



    As you can see, the fallout 1 map is darker then the fallout 2 worldmap.

    Download:
    Fallout 1 Worldmap in Fallout 2 format. (*.bmp files)
     
  6. Dude101

    Dude101 Vault Fossil
    Modder

    Aug 3, 2005
    You could always use the world map from Dominion.
     
  7. Lexx

    Lexx Background Radiant
    Moderator

    Apr 24, 2005
    Hmm and where can I get the worldmap?

    /Edit: Found it. Thanks for the info.
     
  8. Sorrow

    Sorrow So Old I'm Losing Radiation Signs

    Feb 9, 2006
    It definitely needs a world map, Fallout tiles and english text.

    I'm looking forward to adding some plasma turrets to the Glow :) .
     
  9. Demonslayer

    Demonslayer Water Chip? Been There, Done That

    Aug 8, 2005
    With this effect:



    :drool:

    I like the "tiles" from the worldmap of F1
    Like the city "tiles", reminds me it's a futuristic game.

     
  10. Oracle

    Oracle Water Chip? Been There, Done That

    May 19, 2003
    so if it were possible to merge fo1 with fo2 would it be possible fix the story so, that you could play with your fo1 character directly though fo2?
    sure it would be alot of changes but still...
    one big Fallout adventure...awesome
     
  11. Lexx

    Lexx Background Radiant
    Moderator

    Apr 24, 2005
    Well, I think no. It would also make no sense, because your character would be then in fallout 2 an ol' grandpa.
     
  12. madbunny0

    madbunny0 First time out of the vault

    Jan 4, 2008
    Broken Link

    Can anyone post a working link to the TEXT.rar file? the current one seems to be broken.
     
  13. Shiozaki

    Shiozaki It Wandered In From the Wastes

    Jul 29, 2006
    I've been having a few problems gettings this to work, comuld one of you who have gotten this to run run me threw it starting off with fresh install of F2?
     
  14. Mr.Wolna

    Mr.Wolna Vault Senior Citizen

    Nov 15, 2007
    Of course and you need to press the compile.bat , look at the Readme file
     
  15. Nimrod

    Nimrod It Wandered In From the Wastes

    Sep 24, 2007
    To actually make F2 a continuation of F1 would require a LOT of story rewriting, since you wouldn't be a "stupid tribal" anymore. As for the character's age, I guess you could say the radiation from the Glow mutated you, giving you a long lifespan like a ghoul without melting your skin off or some such.

    I think it would be extremely cool to see it come to pass just for something different, but I honestly don't see it happening. You can always use an editor to recreate your character at the start of F2 and just pretend. I did that once just for kicks - it IS an RPG after all. :)
     
  16. Robert Czarwolski

    Robert Czarwolski It Wandered In From the Wastes

    Feb 5, 2007
    If anyone is going to mod Burrows in, please, create new racoon FRM's, after all, the tatics giant rat that "could be used as a racoon" realy don't look like a racoon (racoons are suposed to look cute, don't they? :D ). I love racoons, so i would love to see it in game.
    Damn FEV research, using racoons as test subjects! How dare they do it!!!
     
  17. >origami<

    >origami< First time out of the vault

    Jan 22, 2007
    I've followed the instructions in the first post of this topic to the letter and can get the game to run but the in-game text is still in Russian.
    Damned if I know why because I've installed the patch and the English localization "Text.rar" correctly.
    I'm assuming when I install the mod plus patch and english text that I unpack the files into my Fallout2 directory overwriting the existing files?
     
  18. Nimrod

    Nimrod It Wandered In From the Wastes

    Sep 24, 2007
    I have to admit; this is one element I'm almost glad they scrapped. Talking raccoons would be... weird. Not quite up in the same rank as a talking spore plant, but close.
     
  19. Lexx

    Lexx Background Radiant
    Moderator

    Apr 24, 2005
    Are there some news about this? (Next patch or so?)
     
  20. Pisis

    Pisis First time out of the vault

    Nov 1, 2004
    I need some assistance, please.

    I blindfoldly followed the steps as described in WIKI and I run across these problems/bugs:

    1) No patch0000.dat exists in the game folder (neither in subfolders)
    2) The game is in Russian (although I overwritten the text folder)
    3) I start the game in the V13 cave (no Overseer/WaterChip intro...)
    4) At the V13 corpse's inventory a few grids from my starting position as mentioned in 3), there's a Power Armor, a guass rifle, fuel cells etc... What the f;ck?!

    :x

    Thanks for help!