Fallout 2 Restoration Project 2.1.2b (Unofficial Expansion)

Discussion in 'Fallout General Modding' started by killap, Sep 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ThwartAbyss54

    ThwartAbyss54 First time out of the vault

    20
    May 14, 2011
    Waits patiently for those 8 lucky bastards who get to play the beta to get done ^^* Im sure they will Felipefpl Who were the 8 lucky people i should tort i mean congratulate for getting to play before us :D
     
  2. killap

    killap Bear Dude Moderator Modder

    May 16, 2005
    @ThwartAbyss54: 9 testers to be exact. 8-)

    An issue with the installer and how it detects 64bit/32bit Windows was found (and hopefully addressed). Yay testers for finding this.

    A regression (when selecting a specific item in the installer) was also found. Yay me for finding this.

    We'll see how the real testing goes.
     
  3. Felipefpl

    Felipefpl Look, Ma! Two Heads!

    399
    Jun 17, 2010
    killap - did you add a check to prevent the installation if Fallout 2 is installed on Program Files Directory on Vista and 7 and a msg to tell p p l that they should install in c:\ directory? Just curious. If u didnt i'd recommend it so you wont have problems with p p l doing this. ;)
     
  4. fortyseven

    fortyseven First time out of the vault

    92
    Nov 19, 2008
    Darek, does 2.2 still include the voice files you created for Cassidy? Really enjoyed the preview you gave us of those a while back.
     
  5. Darek

    Darek is currently unavailable

    Jan 7, 2008
    @ fortyseven,
    Sure you got the name correct there? I ,mean, sure, it's pretty and all but I had nothing to do with that. :P

    That's an excellent reason not to tell. :lol:
    I'd say it's up to each of them if they want it to be known.
     
  6. killap

    killap Bear Dude Moderator Modder

    May 16, 2005
    That was one of the changes in the installer for RP 2.2. I believe though the issue is only relevant to 64-bit versions, right? Installing to the 'Program Files (x86)' directory is safe? Can anyone confirm? There was discussion about this somewhere and it's been awhile.

    @ fortyseven:

    No, there are no voice files for Cassidy in the upcoming RP 2.2.
     
  7. NovaRain

    NovaRain Casual Modder Modder Moderator

    Mar 10, 2007
    AFAIK it's still problematic to install to the program files directory on Vista/Win7 with UAC enabled.

    From sfall's FAQ:
     
  8. Felipefpl

    Felipefpl Look, Ma! Two Heads!

    399
    Jun 17, 2010
    Killap - i dont remember p p l saying anything about 32 or 64 bit so i believe it happens on both systems so it's better to prevent p p l installing the game there to avoid lots of annoying posts with the same complaint, dont forget to add the msg to install in C:\. ;)
     
  9. killap

    killap Bear Dude Moderator Modder

    May 16, 2005
    Hmm, then I need to revisit the beta tester who had issues with Win 7 32b-bit. Thanks for the info guys.
     
  10. Dravean

    Dravean Where'd That 6th Toe Come From?

    482
    Mar 6, 2005
    Just to clarify, the game doesn't need to be installed elsewhere on the C Drive to avoid the problem. It simply needs to be installed anywhere except for the Program Files folder. It doesn't matter what drive it's installed in, C, D, whatever, as long as it's not in the Program Files folder.

    And yeah, as others have said, the issue is with Windows' UAC (User Account Control). Thus it affects any Vista or Windows 7 OS; it doesn't seem to have anything to do with whether the OS is 32 or 64 bit.
     
  11. tiagop

    tiagop First time out of the vault

    82
    May 24, 2006
    I use windows 7 x64, and Fallout installs by default on C:\Program Files\, but I don't have any of those UAC issues because mine is turned off. So I think it's a bad idea to put the installer to install by default on Program Files(x86) :P

    Also can't wait for RP to come out !
     
  12. Ardent

    Ardent A Smooth-Skin
    Modder

    678
    Jul 24, 2009
    That's a pity. I was hoping we'd get a nice continuity with Cassidy speaking in Dravean's voice both in the RP and in MR 8-) Still, that's understandable; it's extremely time-consuming to create .lip files for custom voice over. You have to place all animation markers manually, and a couple of seconds of dialogue requires about a hundred markers.

    @fortyseven: If you want to hear Dravean as Cassidy, play the new demo of Mutants Rising.
     
  13. killap

    killap Bear Dude Moderator Modder

    May 16, 2005
    The RP installer defaults to wherever you have F2 installed. If F2 is installed at C:\Program Files and you are running Vista/7, then it the RP installer will complain (and prevent you from installing) and tell you that you need to reinstall the game at a different location. This will happen whether UAC is enabled or not.
     
  14. tiagop

    tiagop First time out of the vault

    82
    May 24, 2006
    Oh I see, I thought that the discussion was about that :oops:
     
  15. killap

    killap Bear Dude Moderator Modder

    May 16, 2005
    No, you're right. I just wanted to clarify what the RP installer will be doing in version 2.2.
     
  16. Chuman

    Chuman First time out of the vault

    16
    Feb 10, 2012
    That's awesome news on the new version! I remember playing through the original release, which a bit buggy at the time, but altogether, still ambitious and awesome. Just in time for a new play through as well. Thanks Killap!
     
  17. Darek

    Darek is currently unavailable

    Jan 7, 2008
    killap, why is it that stealing from locked containers never have been disabled?
    Like this report for instance:
    It's not a hard thing to do (more than finding all of them and there's possibly many of them, can't really remember).
    It's just that the only skill that are checked in "use_skill_on_p_procedure" is lockpick, not what happens if it's any other skill.
    And as the steal skill opens containers and is not checked (and don't care if something is locked or not) it bypasses everything. A small oversight I reckon.
    I only checked Cassidys drawer script, but it basically only includes what's in the ziLocker.ssl script.
    To fix it you could just do something like this:
    Code:
    vicswch1.ssl
    
    procedure use_skill_on_p_proc
    
    			if (action_being_used == 9) then begin
    				//lots of code
     			end     
    // add this
    			else begin
    				if (obj_is_locked(self_obj)) then begin      // just too keep it consistent with other unlocked containers 
    					script_overrides;
    				end
    			end
    
     
  18. killap

    killap Bear Dude Moderator Modder

    May 16, 2005
    That's the reason. I know it's easy to fix, just modifying probably 50+ script files doesn't appeal to me right now. Maybe I'll change my mind before the end of the beta.
     
  19. Felipefpl

    Felipefpl Look, Ma! Two Heads!

    399
    Jun 17, 2010
    you sure need to hire some new devs to help ya, under your guidance of course. ;)
     
  20. hakimio

    hakimio It Wandered In From the Wastes

    165
    Feb 27, 2009
    Or better yet: upload your sources with comments and latest changes to some version control repository (google code?). So that all the devs could get the code and send you the patches which you could review and apply if you like them. That's how open source projects work.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.