Fallout 2 Restoration Project Gameplay Thread

Discussion in 'Fallout General Modding' started by killap, Jan 13, 2008.

  1. killap

    killap Bear Dude Moderator Modder

    May 16, 2005
    Heh, thanks.

    Hold off until 1.2 though. That will be a more perfect version. :D
     
  2. touriste

    touriste It Wandered In From the Wastes

    106
    May 18, 2008
    what's the.. Marcus doesn't talk about the missing people anymore and he accepted to travel with me Oo.

    Mhmm is the quest linked with the escape of the extremists now (so i couldn't have it)? There is still a npc in the residential that wonder where his wife is.. :/
     
  3. killap

    killap Bear Dude Moderator Modder

    May 16, 2005
    Umm, I believe those bodies only show up when you are given the quest to go look for the missing people. Not sure why Marcus won't talk about it. Never had this problem nor had any reports of this broken before. It should be one of the first quests (after the broken mine purifier) that Marcus gives you.
     
  4. touriste

    touriste It Wandered In From the Wastes

    106
    May 18, 2008
    Well, it's strange because at first he talked about this and so i thought i had the quest. I do different things for the city and if i remind correctly, he still refused to come with while there is the mine problem. I resolved the mine, came back to him and no more missing people.

    When i look in pipboy, I got no quests about any missing people. :'(
     
  5. Fox85

    Fox85 First time out of the vault

    2
    May 27, 2008
    Abbey quests

    Hello everybody!
    I am new here and I will say to Killap: BIG THX for The Restoration project!!! :clap:

    How can i find the location of EPA?

    I have problems to with Quests in Abbey.

    How to get Biology book for one the monks?

    How can i solve the quest from father Tully, that needs to say to Father Thomas, but Father Thomas is dead.

    The Books that can be found here, is for everything good, or only for fun?

    THX for the reply.

    Sorry for my English.
     
  6. Minigun Jim

    Minigun Jim It Wandered In From the Wastes

    157
    May 12, 2008
    He doesn't mean father Thomas, it's bugged. Tully actually means the monk in the basement with the booze and stills. He'll give you wine if you give him a Lighter.

    The monk doesn't want a Biology *book* he wants Botany *data*. Botany is the study of plants. Try an area with data archives and a LOT of spore plants.

    There's no current use for the unique books in the abbey.

    If you want to know the location of the EPA you can get it from a random encounter, or maybe from someone who knows a lot about science...
     
  7. Fox85

    Fox85 First time out of the vault

    2
    May 27, 2008
    THX for the reply, but I have one quest on my PIPBOY at ABBEY link that says:

    Inform Brother Thomas and Father Tully from whereabouts of each other.

    But Brother Thomas has died on the caves under the Abbey. :(
     
  8. Morticia

    Morticia Look, Ma! Two Heads!

    372
    Mar 9, 2008
    @Fox85,
    That is a typo, it should say Brother Samuel (the Gravekeeper). The quest will still get crossed out when you complete it. Just ignore the name.

    Check the Guide link below if you need more help.
     
  9. Elitech

    Elitech Still Mildly Glowing

    282
    Apr 22, 2008
    Will there be in 1.2?
     
  10. ogreb

    ogreb First time out of the vault

    75
    Jul 30, 2005
    Help !!
    Crashing using the EPA elevator...

    Tried every level...crash !

    First crash I've seen...

    Restarted and reloaded several times...but as soon as i choose the level...crash !!!

    Help..!!!
     
  11. killap

    killap Bear Dude Moderator Modder

    May 16, 2005
    What is the value of your art_cache setting under the Fallout2.cfg file in the main fallout 2 directory?

    If it is less than 255, set it to this value.
     
  12. ogreb

    ogreb First time out of the vault

    75
    Jul 30, 2005
    The DDdraw configuration file ?

    I'm looking in there but not seeing it...


    Point me in the right direction...

    I'll go back and look...
     
  13. killap

    killap Bear Dude Moderator Modder

    May 16, 2005
    No, there is a file called fallout2.cfg in the main directory. It is in the same place as the ddraw.ini file. Perhaps you don't have a config file? Doesn't the game automatically create one though when you first run the game....?
     
  14. ogreb

    ogreb First time out of the vault

    75
    Jul 30, 2005
    Yeah I found it...

    It was disguised as a Microsoft Outlook file....tricky little buggers..


    Well according to the config my art cache size is 8....

    So I'll change it to 255...

    Be right back....
     
  15. ogreb

    ogreb First time out of the vault

    75
    Jul 30, 2005
    Again you are the bear !!!

    Works fine..big difference between 8 and 255.

    I still can't beleive how much this rocks...!!

    Or the fact some crazy half bear guy took it upon himself to finish my most favorite game ever...I'm not kidding.

    Fallout is my squeeze....

    Weird how my computer can play any game made including Crysis.
    ( Quad 6700, 4 gigs ram. dual GTXs ) And I have all the latest titles.
    Yet I find myself enjoying playing a 10 year old game...one made even better by a crazy bear.

    I like it so much that after this run I'm going finally try a HtoH fighter....I've always wanted to smack butt next to Sulik.
    Me Sulik and Marcus pummeling everybody ( Marcus rocks with Super power Fist)..that sounds like fun !!!

    Well back to the EPA

    And I sent the E-mail to PC Gamer...if they don't hook you up..I'm not going to resubscribe,,,

    They had the Survivor Mod for Fallout 2 in there once....but that pales in comparision....like a candle next to a sun!


    You the man-bear thingee !!!!

    Bravo...
     
  16. killap

    killap Bear Dude Moderator Modder

    May 16, 2005
    Heh, thanks and glad the art_cache thing worked.

    1.2 should be great for your next play through, so be sure to update when it comes up.
     
  17. insanepipe

    insanepipe First time out of the vault

    65
    Nov 11, 2007
    Tried to give Marcus some armor but he wouldn't equip it. I'm sure I installed the npc armor mod because Cassidy, Sulik, and Vic change. Any other other suggestions?
     
  18. killap

    killap Bear Dude Moderator Modder

    May 16, 2005
    Ok, it isn't just any armor that he can wear. He is a BIG mutant you know. You have to find special armor for him. Explore the new locations in the game. As for dogmeat, armor for him is found in a location from the original game. Again, it is unique to just him.
     
  19. insanepipe

    insanepipe First time out of the vault

    65
    Nov 11, 2007
    If Marcus' armor is supposed to be in the EPA..I don't see it...wrong place maybe? I did find environmental armor...but don't think that's it. o.O
     
  20. killap

    killap Bear Dude Moderator Modder

    May 16, 2005
    EPA was a good guess, but that place has too much going on at it and thus I didn't choose to put it there. Think of another location where there would be lots of *old* items. Then talk to people there.