Any stuff related to unofficial F2 patches goes in here!

Discussion in 'Fallout General Modding' started by Per, Mar 20, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. killap

    killap Bear Dude Moderator Modder

    May 16, 2005
    Hmm...Well, I suppose the next question is what happens when you install the game without my patch? All your specs are fine and it seems everything was installed correctly. Since it was a 1.0 CD that means that A was the correct version and there should not have been a patch000.dat file in the folder.

    Never heard of a problem like this before so we'll see what we can do.

    P.S. We care over here at NMA and thus we like to be punctual in our replies. :D

    EDIT: When you say "replace" I assume just copy over and overwrite. Not physically remove and then copy over the new files. Is there a "worldmap.dat" in your Fallout2\data folder?
     
  2. Nevis

    Nevis First time out of the vault

    7
    Jun 24, 2007
    I have a backup folder, where I put the non patch exe and folder. Change them back and fourth, depending on if I want to play it patched or not.

    And, yes, there is a file named "worldmap.dat" in the data folder.
     
  3. Nevis

    Nevis First time out of the vault

    7
    Jun 24, 2007
    Savegame sent. Not sure if it was sent properly though. My internet has begun to act up lately.
     
  4. killap

    killap Bear Dude Moderator Modder

    May 16, 2005
    Ah, my mistake. I missed that line in your previous post saying no problems found under a non patched version. Well, could you send me a save game from the patched version of the game? Use the address found in the readme of my patch.

    EDIT:
    Ok, got the file and I experienced no crash upon entering the Den. Are we sure the patch is not corrupted in some way? Either way, try out these two map files. They are the ones straight from my fallout 2 directory and seem to work.

    http://zcn.phix-it.com/fallout2/Maps.rar
     
  5. Nevis

    Nevis First time out of the vault

    7
    Jun 24, 2007
    Hmm, still the same problem. Guess there must be something nasty on my computer messing things up.

    Thanks for the help though.
     
  6. killap

    killap Bear Dude Moderator Modder

    May 16, 2005
    Bah, I hate to leave people hanging like this though.

    I really don't understand the recent wave of reports with strange non reproducible issues. What is everyone doing differently? Or is this just the joy of an increased fan base with an ever increasing array of system environments?
     
  7. Nevis

    Nevis First time out of the vault

    7
    Jun 24, 2007
    I think you nailed it there.

    Anyhow, I doing a full system malware scan. Judging by the error I got, and posted in my first post, something seems to be messing\wrong with my computers memory.

    EDIT:
    The scan did nothing, even though I found some nasty elements. Got an idea though, while scanning...
    I saved the savegames and uninstalled the game, then re-installed\patched it. With the old savegames and the reinstalled game it worked! :D

    Not the most elegant way of fixing the problem, but it worked and I haven't had any further problems yet.
     
  8. DiabolicMinds

    DiabolicMinds First time out of the vault

    7
    Jun 25, 2007
    Ok, here is a problem that I'm having trouble with. I posted in the gameplay RPG and tech forum but Per's advice didn't work so I will post here.
    After playing with Killaps unofficial final release A patch and the MIB88 megamod on FO2 I begin having terribly long load times. Not sure as to what is causing it but I remember playing through v.1.02 many times and not getting this. My guess is it's either the unofficial patch or MIB88's mod. It seems to start up once I get through Modoc and into Vault City. Makes the game unplayable... I would really like to get this patch and MIB88's mod working.
    The version of FO2 installs with the patch.000.dat. After the install all I did was put on these two items.
     
  9. killap

    killap Bear Dude Moderator Modder

    May 16, 2005
    My patch and the Megamod cannot be used together. Megamod already includes my patch so there is no need to install my patch separately.
     
  10. DiabolicMinds

    DiabolicMinds First time out of the vault

    7
    Jun 25, 2007
    So... that's what I'm doing wrong?
     
  11. killap

    killap Bear Dude Moderator Modder

    May 16, 2005
    Yes. If you want to use the Megamod you must only install it. No other mods/patches will work in parallel with it. Megamod already includes almost every mod (as well as my patch) so you are pretty much getting the best of both worlds.
     
  12. DiabolicMinds

    DiabolicMinds First time out of the vault

    7
    Jun 25, 2007
    Thanks for the input. :)
     
  13. MoonScar119

    MoonScar119 First time out of the vault

    24
    Sep 14, 2006
    i maybe might have a solution for all the map crashes


    I'M a notorious F6/F9 save/load player when it comes to FPS's.... so naturally i save a lot in this game.... if i click save and hit enter quickly to save sometimes that makes the game crash. and when i reload the game and try to leave the town it will crash.

    also i notice if i save a lot in a town it will cause it to crash.


    this is easily avoided now because i save once i get to the city on one slot... then another slot i save when i leave that city. and the first slot is my save whore slot. this prevents this if i save the game too much


    maybe this might be a cause killap?

    (it's no longer an issue with crashing for me, i'll reload a previous save.....just trying to help)
     
  14. dweller23325

    dweller23325 First time out of the vault

    1
    Jun 28, 2007
    i needz teh armor piercing plzkthx

    Hi, you may have answered this already. Is your patch going to fix the "Armor Piercing ammo sucks hard" problem, or do you not consider that a bug? I do. AP ammo stats are gimped to the point that it's totally useless, and it's clearly not the designers' intention for it to be so weak. The ammo doesn't work properly (i.e., it doesn't pierce armor and is always less effective than JHP or FMJ) and that sounds like a bug to me.

    The way AP ammo is distributed in the game suggests to me heavily that it's meant to be "killer" ammo, since it's given to those people that you'd expect to be the most dangerous. The guards around the central computer in Vault 15 for example are loaded with 5mm AP, which is probably the single largest concentration of it in the game (or perhaps Mariposa is). Obviously this battle was meant to be very dangerous, so why give them the crap ammo? Because it shouldn't be crap. By the time I got to Vault 15, I had already been to Navarro, and the Mk II Power Armor deflects 5mm AP like a car driving through gnats, and they were repeatedly bursting me for 0 damage (which is not the same as just missing). This is clearly not the way it should be.

    I really think you should include a "working" set of Armor Piercing ammo in this patch (5mm, 10mm, 14mm), and also (this next part would definitely not be a bug fix) maybe someone could add AP ammo for the .44 and .223 calibers.

    Either that or remove all spawns of the ammo entirely and replace them with the JHP versions of the same caliber (not as good a solution).

    As far as how to balance the AP ammo, it's already pretty rare (except maybe 10mm AP). I don't think 1/1 damage mod and significant negative AC mod would make it too powerful. I think this should be a coveted ammo, commensurate with how difficult it already is to stockpile compared to standard type. As long as it's relatively rare, people need to make hard decisions about when to use it, who to use it against, and at what range, so as to use it to best possible effect.

    If you already have fixed this, your "Full List of Corrections: Last updated on: 6/11/2007" doesn't mention it at all, and the game I just played with the latest version of your patch (which otherwise works quite well) had the AP damage mod still at 1/2.
     
  15. Glovz

    Glovz Vault Dweller
    Modder

    735
    Sep 16, 2005
    @dweller23325

    This is a hardcoded issue in the exe.

    Try read more of the forum and you will see this has been discussed thoroughly.

    Fallout 2 memory offsets
    http://www.nma-fallout.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10538&start=0&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=

    Damage calculation revisited and fixed?
    http://www.nma-fallout.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=34876&start=0&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=

    Unfortunately, I have not heard back from ravachol or anyone else who can or is willing to make the necessary changes to the exe.
     
  16. Cubik2k

    Cubik2k Where'd That 6th Toe Come From?
    Modder

    484
    Nov 22, 2005
    You can try my Ammo mod 1.02 or new experimantal version with the damage algo patch. Search download on my Fallout2: Ammo Mod site.
    I was working on this ammo patch for few months, it is not easy to balance damage of weapon, stats of armors of all critters and amrours.
    The mod is not perfect, but AP ammo is better on average and strong armors then JHP or even FMJ.
    Try thoe mods and write me if you like them.
     
  17. lancelott

    lancelott First time out of the vault

    9
    Jun 25, 2007
    I'm using killap's patch and having a problem.

    I'm supposed to deliver the Gecko Economic disk to McLure, but there is no option for it, presumably because I initiated the citizenship test (which is all he talks about now, and I can't seem to pass it).

    Additionally, I can't seem to get information on the hydrospheratic magnulator from him. There is no option for that.

    Please help? This is on a fresh game with the latest version of the patch, unlike the game I had the Brahmin issues on.
     
  18. killap

    killap Bear Dude Moderator Modder

    May 16, 2005
    Send a save game to the address in the readme contained within my patch. Its easier for me to visually see what is going on to access the situation.
     
  19. lancelott

    lancelott First time out of the vault

    9
    Jun 25, 2007
    OK. I have sent it.
     
  20. killap

    killap Bear Dude Moderator Modder

    May 16, 2005
    Ok, I ran through it and not sure what the problem is. I talked to McClure (the guy in the far left room) and I was able to talk about the part, give the eco disk, and pick up the part from Randal. Were you talking to councillor Gregory perhaps? He is the one who gives the test.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.