Fallout 2 mod FO2 Engine Tweaks (Sfall)

Discussion in 'Fallout General Modding' started by Dude101, Jul 30, 2007.

  1. Lexx

    Lexx Background Radiant
    Moderator Modder

    Apr 24, 2005
    Then maybe it is disabled over city locations? The only "none" zones I have are where you find green circles. And there the force_encounter() doesn't work.
     
  2. Mr.Stalin

    Mr.Stalin Agent of Enclave Modder

    281
    Oct 29, 2015
    in the sub tiles where the city is located there will be no encounters, which is logical.
     
  3. Lexx

    Lexx Background Radiant
    Moderator Modder

    Apr 24, 2005
    Btw. can we force special encounters? You know, with the red flash etc. Would be fancy. Right now there are no special encounters in the Fo1 port, and I'm thinking about ways to implement them.
     
  4. Mr.Stalin

    Mr.Stalin Agent of Enclave Modder

    281
    Oct 29, 2015
    Notepad + worldmap.txt = special encounters :)
     
  5. Lexx

    Lexx Background Radiant
    Moderator Modder

    Apr 24, 2005
    Sadly that doesn't work with the way our encounter system works. It depends on worldmap.txt being empty. As soon as anything gets added to the list, it will be chosen, simply because it's the only one being there. This is why I'd like to script that as well, circumventing the worldmap.txt file.

    I mean, I could just run with force_encounter() again, but that means skipping the fancy blinking icon.


    Shit's done.
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2019
  6. Ardent

    Ardent A Smooth-Skin
    Modder

    681
    Jul 24, 2009
    Hey guys :)

    So, I updated sfall to 4.1.9.1, along with the modderspack, and now I get the following error when I compile a script:

    upload_2019-8-24_23-19-51.png

    Any ideas what it is / how to fix it / how I can get around it? Currently, my scripts aren't compiling.

    Below are the contents of the "Details" section:
    See the end of this message for details on invoking
    just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

    ************** Exception Text **************
    System.FormatException: Input string was not in a correct format.
    at System.Number.StringToNumber(String str, NumberStyles options, NumberBuffer& number, NumberFormatInfo info, Boolean parseDecimal)
    at System.Number.ParseInt32(String s, NumberStyles style, NumberFormatInfo info)
    at ScriptEditor.CodeTranslation.Compiler.Compile(String infile, String& output, List`1 errors, Boolean preprocessOnly)
    at ScriptEditor.TextEditor.Compile(TabInfo tab, String& msg, Boolean showMessages, Boolean preprocess)
    at ScriptEditor.TextEditor.compileToolStripMenuItem1_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.RaiseEvent(Object key, EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripMenuItem.OnClick(EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.HandleClick(EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.FireEventInteractive(EventArgs e, ToolStripItemEventType met)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.FireEvent(EventArgs e, ToolStripItemEventType met)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripMenuItem.ProcessCmdKey(Message& m, Keys keyData)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripManager.ProcessShortcut(Message& m, Keys shortcut)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripManager.ProcessCmdKey(Message& m, Keys keyData)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ContainerControl.ProcessCmdKey(Message& msg, Keys keyData)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.ProcessCmdKey(Message& msg, Keys keyData)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ProcessCmdKey(Message& msg, Keys keyData)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ProcessCmdKey(Message& msg, Keys keyData)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ContainerControl.ProcessCmdKey(Message& msg, Keys keyData)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ProcessCmdKey(Message& msg, Keys keyData)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ProcessCmdKey(Message& msg, Keys keyData)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ContainerControl.ProcessCmdKey(Message& msg, Keys keyData)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ProcessCmdKey(Message& msg, Keys keyData)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ProcessCmdKey(Message& msg, Keys keyData)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ProcessCmdKey(Message& msg, Keys keyData)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ProcessCmdKey(Message& msg, Keys keyData)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ContainerControl.ProcessCmdKey(Message& msg, Keys keyData)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ProcessCmdKey(Message& msg, Keys keyData)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ProcessCmdKey(Message& msg, Keys keyData)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ProcessCmdKey(Message& msg, Keys keyData)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.PreProcessMessage(Message& msg)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.PreProcessControlMessageInternal(Control target, Message& msg)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Application.ThreadContext.PreTranslateMessage(MSG& msg)


    ************** Loaded Assemblies **************
    mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.8762 (QFE.050727-8700)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    ScriptEditor
    Assembly Version: 3.5.4.5
    Win32 Version: 3.5.4.5
    CodeBase: file:///B:/Game%20Making/Mutants%20Rising/MR/trunk/Sfall_script_editor/Script%20editor/ScriptEditor.exe
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5491 (Win7SP1GDR.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.8770 (QFE.050727-8700)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5495 (Win7SP1GDR.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5494 (Win7SP1GDR.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    ICSharpCode.TextEditor
    Assembly Version: 3.2.1.6466
    Win32 Version: 3.2.1.6466
    CodeBase: file:///B:/Game%20Making/Mutants%20Rising/MR/trunk/Sfall_script_editor/Script%20editor/ICSharpCode.TextEditor.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Configuration
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.5483 (Win7SP1GDR.050727-5400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
    ----------------------------------------

    ************** JIT Debugging **************
    To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
    application or computer (machine.config) must have the
    jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
    The application must also be compiled with debugging
    enabled.

    For example:

    <configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
    </configuration>

    When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
    will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
    rather than be handled by this dialog box.

    Thanks a bunch!
     
  7. Lexx

    Lexx Background Radiant
    Moderator Modder

    Apr 24, 2005
    I think this was related to... actually I have forgotten what it was related to. But if you use the new script editor, it should compile correctly again.

    /Edit: I think as soon as there is some syntax error or it can't find a define, the above mentioned error appears. Not 100% sure anymore now, though.
     
  8. Ardent

    Ardent A Smooth-Skin
    Modder

    681
    Jul 24, 2009
    Oooh, shiny! Thank you very much!
     
  9. NovaRain

    NovaRain Casual Modder Modder

    Mar 10, 2007
    sfall 4.2 and 3.8.20 are released on SourceForge, along with their respective modders packs.
    Note: Cublik2k's F2wedit has already supported setting the new 'Energy Weapon' flag for weapon protos.
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2019
    • [Rad] [Rad] x 3
  10. .Pixote.

    .Pixote. Venerable Relic of the Wastes
    Modder

    Sep 14, 2009
    Is it possible to make an option in Sfall to make random encounters occur when "resting until healed" on random maps. The idea is simple, just like in Baldur's Gate, when resting outside of towns you have a chance of being interrupted while resting, that wouldn't include caves. A pop up window could say "You have been stumbled upon" (something like that :P ) . Then the player must conclude the encounter, fight - run, whatever. It might be a trading caravan for instance with a high luck skill.

    Anyway the outdoor skill should be the key factor here, and skill 100% you get no encounters, at 90% you have a 10% chance of an encounter, 80% - 20% chance, etc. An outdoor skill below 50% will make it really difficult to rest until healed.

    Why this request? I think it make the game more challenging and unpredictable - good stuff I say.

    :flameon:
     
    • [Rad] [Rad] x 1
  11. NovaRain

    NovaRain Casual Modder Modder

    Mar 10, 2007
    There's a RESTTIMER hook since sfall 4.0.4. I think one can spawn critters on the current random encounter map based on it.
    It won't be a simple FeatureIWant=1 option in the ini but has to be scripted.
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2019
  12. Oracle

    Oracle Water Chip? Been There, Done That

    921
    May 19, 2003
    I like that idea. Rest until healed felt like a broken mechanic
     
  13. Lexx

    Lexx Background Radiant
    Moderator Modder

    Apr 24, 2005
    Not sure if this would really change a thing.
    I was thinking about this the other day, because it's certainly possible... just a bit of work. The thing is, though, it can easily end up as an item farm (if the "reinforcements" are too easy), or it annoys the player and he just wanders on the worldmap over a location circle OR he just waits it out directly in a town location.

    It would probably be better to limit the amount of time you can rest based on certain factors, and not artificially spawn in mobs which you can either exploit or easily avoid.
    But even if you would limit the amount of time you can rest... it's probably easily circumvented and suddenly you just added a new batch of tediousness to the game.

    In my Fo2 mod, I had resting disabled for a while - you had to rent a hotel room to use the resting timer OR you had to have a sleeping bag item and were only able to use it in certain locations (which would then teleport you to a new "camp" location, which WOULD spawn hostile critters randomly, like .Pixote. suggests).

    After having that feature in the game for 2 years... I scrapped it. Not because it didn't work, but simply because I realized that it just didn't feel good.
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2019
    • [Rad] [Rad] x 2
  14. Cerebro

    Cerebro First time out of the vault

    81
    May 6, 2007
    Don't know if this is the right place to ask this question, but is there a way to force line breaks into a single text passage? Like making the game interpret "\n" correctly or something? Its a very minor thing, but I find some texts rather cluttered the way they are - especially item descriptions with several aligned sentences like: "This is item so and so. It weights X. It has X shots of Y..." Would be nice to be able to separate the description from the weight and ammo stuff. I'm aware that some texts then may get to long to be displayed correctly, but I'd edit rather edit those to make them fit. (And yes, I'm aware that there is an option to toggle the item description for ammunition types on/off for the barter menu.)
     
  15. NovaRain

    NovaRain Casual Modder Modder

    Mar 10, 2007
    sfall 4.2.1 and 3.8.21 are released on SourceForge, along with their respective modders packs.
    EDIT: the perks removing bug in gl_partycontrol.int is fixed. You can re-download the release package or just download the fixed script from my post below. Sorry for the inconvenience caused.
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2019
    • [Rad] [Rad] x 1
  16. gustarballs1983

    gustarballs1983 Where'd That 6th Toe Come From?

    453
    Oct 28, 2009
    There's an issue with party NPC perk shareing function.
    I tried Fo1in2 and went to shady sands caves with Ian. After first turn it switched over to Ian. after I ended Ian's turn (CombatControl=2) *My* character suddenly looses all perks that were shared with party members, and i need to gain a new perk to select those perks once agin. I'm sure that this is not how it was ment to be by design. as Loosing critical perks such as awareness or sniper only to level up another 3 levels to get one of them agin (and this seposedly happens after *every* combat) is waaay out of place.

    Was this the way the perk removal was ment to be?
     
  17. NovaRain

    NovaRain Casual Modder Modder

    Mar 10, 2007
    Nah, it's me did a half-assed test job here.
    Here's the updated script that should work correctly now (tested with PerksList=0,2,4,26,73). I'll update the release packages later.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 7, 2019
  18. .Pixote.

    .Pixote. Venerable Relic of the Wastes
    Modder

    Sep 14, 2009
    I just want to throw an idea out there...is it possible to create a floating text in combat where the one being hurt has a floating text of their damage.

    Imagine I shoot a ghoul with a hunting rifle and do 20 damage, could that damage number appear as a red floating number over the ghouls head for a few seconds (eg: -20). If someone takes a stimpak then a green number floats over their head (eg: +18). They could still keep all their usual floating dialogues - this shouldn't have any effect on the pipboy screen.

    It might be a fun little feature... &gt;_&gt;
     
  19. Samira

    Samira Random is god

    18
    Nov 16, 2009
    Me gusta. FOnline supports that since as long i remember, and it works pretty good. Needless to say, if you watch any video, you have 99.5% chance of seeing it enabled. Here one example, without usual players clutter.
     
  20. gustarballs1983

    gustarballs1983 Where'd That 6th Toe Come From?

    453
    Oct 28, 2009
    well I actually found this bug out because i shared Night Vision perk and it vanished during the night time in cave so all of a sudden everything went black as sun was glaring on my monitor ( which does not help explore dark areas btw.) .
    Eigther way i use the setup below for my perks of choice for NPCs:
    PerksList=0,73,1,2,2,2,3,3,4,4,5,8,8,8,9,21,23,24,14,14,

    A firm set with everything nessecary to turn a peasant party NPC into warmachine including those usually useless quadrupled body type party npcs ( dogs of all kinds, and from all mods too).