Fallout 2 mod FO2 Engine Tweaks (Sfall)

Discussion in 'Fallout General Modding' started by Dude101, Jul 30, 2007.

  1. gustarballs1983

    gustarballs1983 Vault Senior Citizen
    Modder

    Oct 28, 2009
    @NovaRain @Mr.Stalin

    or anyone who knows...

    How can i enable additonal (fourth) premade character to be present during charactr choice?

    I mean the SCIENCE.CGD/SCIENCE.BIO/SCIENCE.FRM are present in premade folder in master.dat folder (currently speaking about Fo:Sonora).

    I have this:

    ;Uncomment these lines to control the premade characters offered when starting a new game
    ;Multiple options should be separated by commas, and there must be the same number of entries in both lines
    ;Premade names not should exceed 11 characters
    PremadePaths=combat,diplomat,stealth,science
    PremadeFIDs=201,203,202,XXX

    So what to enter in PremadeFIDs field instead of XXX for it to search for SCIENCE.FRM?

    the game engine shows something as fourth option only when there's a picture present.
     
  2. NovaRain

    NovaRain Casual Modder Modder Moderator

    Mar 10, 2007
    The FID is the index number in intrface.lst. You need to add the filename science.frm at its end, and the FID will be "line number - 1" (because FID starts from zero).
     
  3. Cyrus

    Cyrus It Wandered In From the Wastes

    152
    Nov 5, 2015
    In ssl can return values be functions?

    Example:
    Code:
    return get_proto_data(PID, offset);
     
  4. NovaRain

    NovaRain Casual Modder Modder Moderator

    Mar 10, 2007
    Yes. You didn't test it first?
    Code:
    procedure Dude_FID begin
       return get_proto_data(obj_pid(dude_obj), PROTO_FID);
    end
    
    // another procedure
    fid := Dude_FID();
    display_msg("My FID: " + fid);
    
     
  5. Cyrus

    Cyrus It Wandered In From the Wastes

    152
    Nov 5, 2015
    well yes I had examples of where I did use it in simple arithmetic, but I've been having some unexpected errors lately, and its been casting doubt over what I thought I knew. Its not just the return statement, its also inside if conditions and elsewhere. you know, when you become unsure of something then you become superstitious and you start to question and doubt things that maybe you don't need to. I started to wonder if there are places or certain functions that I shouldn't use in certain places. Which doesn't make sense really. So I wanted just to confirm outside of my own head with someone else.
     
  6. QuantumApprentice

    QuantumApprentice Look, Ma! Two Heads!

    381
    Feb 9, 2018
    I've been having an issue with newer sfall builds where I can manually change the speed using the SpeedMultiInitial setting, but the speed settings don't change in-game when using the default SpeedModKey and the related SpeedKeys. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong here.
    Any help?
     
  7. NovaRain

    NovaRain Casual Modder Modder Moderator

    Mar 10, 2007
    Try turning off Num Lock.
     
  8. QuantumApprentice

    QuantumApprentice Look, Ma! Two Heads!

    381
    Feb 9, 2018
    lol really? it's that simple :P
    I guess having the numlock on changes the scancodes, thanks for pointing that out
    Is it possible to have duplicate scancodes for each key? So I can set mine to work even with numlock on?
     
  9. NovaRain

    NovaRain Casual Modder Modder Moderator

    Mar 10, 2007
    sfall 4.2.9 and 3.8.29 are released on SourceForge, along with their respective modders packs.
    A quick guide on how to use the new "order to attack" (mode 3) in NPC combat control mod:

    1. When in your combat turn, switch to the command cursor, click on the party member you want to order and hold it, and there should be a new command icon appears:


    2. Use the new target cursor that doesn't show ToHit chance to pick a target. The available target will change to pulsing red outline when you hover the cursor on it, and the party member should have a floating message after clicking on the target:


    3. The party member will start to attack the specified target in his/her turn. Note that if a target is in grey outline, that means it does not yet enter combat:

    This usually happens when you start the combat first, after your first attack the target should be available. No need to attack every target before specifying it for party members, just one in the enemy group is enough (to draw the team into combat). Also, you can only specify non-friendly critters as attack targets in this mode. (Why would you want to attack friendlies?)

    Please note that the "Attack Who" preference in the combat control panel of party members must be set to "Whomever you want", otherwise the target for the party member will be replaced by a new one according to the preset behavior pattern after the attack.

    The mode is suitable for people who don't want to control critters one by one manually (it might get a bit tiresome for a large/lengthy combat scenario) but still want them to attack targets that need to be dealt with ASAP.
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2021
    • [Rad] [Rad] x 10
  10. Tribalus Maximus

    Tribalus Maximus First time out of the vault

    28
    Dec 27, 2018
    Whaaaaaaaat? That's great! I always wanted my Fallout to be a proper tactical. Thanks!
     
  11. Oracle

    Oracle Vault Senior Citizen

    May 19, 2003
    you guys really amaze me.. hats of to you!
     
    • [Rad] [Rad] x 1
  12. Slaughter Manslaught

    Slaughter Manslaught Vault Senior Citizen

    Dec 11, 2006
    What? Holy shit this idea is epic! And kinda simple now that I think of it. Surprised nobody thought of it earlier.
    You guys are code wizards!

    It also reminds me of Van Buren, I think there was supposed to be a feature like that, tied to. @hexer , this is cool.

    I wonder if making a button that tells party members to swap their ammo or weapon (say, you want them to change to deal better with a certain enemy) would also be possible. And telling NPCs to move to a hex. With this, it could lead to pretty tactical combat.
     
    • [Rad] [Rad] x 1
  13. NovaRain

    NovaRain Casual Modder Modder Moderator

    Mar 10, 2007
    I think it might be better to just control them directly.
     
    • [Rad] [Rad] x 1
  14. Cubik2k

    Cubik2k Where'd That 6th Toe Come From?
    Modder

    481
    Nov 22, 2005
    is there possibility to fix swing and thrust mode for melee weapons? or how to tweak them? I search for opcodes in sfall for tweak those modes but can't find.
     
  15. NovaRain

    NovaRain Casual Modder Modder Moderator

    Mar 10, 2007
    Not sure what "tweak/fix" you're talking about. If you want something like thrusting can reduce target's armor, it can be scripted via hooks.
     
  16. Cubik2k

    Cubik2k Where'd That 6th Toe Come From?
    Modder

    481
    Nov 22, 2005
    I made such script several years ago, now time for modding sfall ;) The 'tweak/fix' I mean that I would like to make my own tweaks to thrust/swing in sfall, not in script. Is it possible? I do not want make this via scripts, because it is not so ellegant as make it in sfall ;)
    However, if it is not possible, so script must be...
     
  17. Mr.Stalin

    Mr.Stalin Mildly Dipped

    529
    Oct 29, 2015
    in sfall, something is added that cannot be done by a script, i.e. new functionality is added to sfall so that the engine can support your idea.
    if your mod can work from a script, then there is no need to put it in sfall. it's already full of shit. :)
    provide your script and it will be included with sfall (if it is be useful).
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2021
    • [Rad] [Rad] x 2
  18. Cubik2k

    Cubik2k Where'd That 6th Toe Come From?
    Modder

    481
    Nov 22, 2005
    its clear now :)
    Thanks for simple explanation Mr.Stalin :)
     
  19. hexer

    hexer It's PJ! Modder

    437
    Dec 7, 2013
    Oh yes, I'll be adding this. Thank you @NovaRain & @Mr.Stalin
     
    • [Rad] [Rad] x 1
  20. Lexx

    Lexx Testament to the ghoul lifespan
    Moderator Modder

    Apr 24, 2005
    But you people know that party control in itself is nothing new, right? This update only adds another (less intrusive) alternative to that.