Restoration Project and SFall script problems.

Discussion in 'Fallout General Modding' started by Mulligun, Jun 17, 2023.

  1. Mulligun

    Mulligun Still Mildly Glowing

    264
    Dec 14, 2006
    I'd like to use manually (not using the installer!) install latest F2 RPU (FROM: https://github.com/BGforgeNet/Fallout2_Restoration_Project/releases/tag/v26). How can i do that? Is it just as simple as just copy the content of the RPU zip (possibly overwriting some files) to my main F2 installation folder (where the fallout2.exe is located)?

    Thx:-)

    P.S.
    Is there a Polish version of the F2 game this latest RPU(v26)?
     
  2. Femic

    Femic First time out of the vault

    70
    Nov 22, 2015
    Don't know but I suggest to just install RPU inside a separate folder and investigate which files there are.
    Make a backup of your Fallout 2 install and copy and paste all RPU files into it to test if it runs.
     
  3. Mulligun

    Mulligun Still Mildly Glowing

    264
    Dec 14, 2006
    Is it a way to "fix" the problem of auto - stopping a player movement in F2? I'll explain what i mean: having a decent sized map when a player click on the destination point/spot the dude runs but stops after moving some specific distance. In other worlds when the distance is to long the dude won't run in one, direct move but the player have to click once again around the destination spot to "re-run" the dude once again.

    My questions:
    1. Can that auto-stop flaw be fixed using SFall engine or some mod? This behavior is (in my opinion at least) VERY annoying - it decently degrades the game play smoothness. Sometimes You have to click several times to just move the dude where You want to!
    2. Can the dude map movement (running speed) be changed with Sfall (i mean ONLY the dude movement NOT the whole game speed!)?
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2023
  4. Lexx

    Lexx Testament to the ghoul lifespan
    Moderator Modder

    Apr 24, 2005
    NumPathNodes in f2_res.ini determines the range calculation for the pathing. However, if scripts aren't specifically written with it in mind, it can cause issues and bugs. For example, using higher than 2 in ettu will for sure break a few scripts since NPCs will start walking to places which they originally never were able to reach.
     
  5. Mulligun

    Mulligun Still Mildly Glowing

    264
    Dec 14, 2006
    Ok thx for info. Can You be also so nice and answer my second question please?
     
  6. Lexx

    Lexx Testament to the ghoul lifespan
    Moderator Modder

    Apr 24, 2005
    I have no answer for that. Guess it's a no, don't know.
     
  7. Mulligun

    Mulligun Still Mildly Glowing

    264
    Dec 14, 2006
    I'd like to write a script including a line(s) with a c-style cast operator int like below:
    damage = max[int(total_damage) - int(modified_DR * int(total_damage)), 0]
    There seems NOT no be an int operator and as far as i know F2 script have automatic type assignment. HOW can i implement the int operator to make the line work as expected?

    Thx.
     
  8. Mulligun

    Mulligun Still Mildly Glowing

    264
    Dec 14, 2006
    Is it possible to draw a semi-transparent image with SFall? If the answer ids yes how to do that.
    Which function to use?

    Thx.
     
  9. Lexx

    Lexx Testament to the ghoul lifespan
    Moderator Modder

    Apr 24, 2005
  10. Lexx

    Lexx Testament to the ghoul lifespan
    Moderator Modder

    Apr 24, 2005
    Why? Are you sure you aren't looking for floor() or something like that?
     
    • [Rad] [Rad] x 1
  11. Mulligun

    Mulligun Still Mildly Glowing

    264
    Dec 14, 2006
    Can someone please help me correct the code to draw an image?
    Here is my code:
    Code:
    create_win_flag("ArmorInfoWnd", 10, 0, 320, 200, WIN_FLAG_DONTMOVE);
    SelectWin("ArmorInfoWnd");
    draw_image("../img/HR_SCRN_BG.FRM", 0, 10, 0, 1);
    All it draws is just black rectangle. The image isn't drawn!
     
  12. Lexx

    Lexx Testament to the ghoul lifespan
    Moderator Modder

    Apr 24, 2005
    Game can't find your image. This is a valid file path:
    Code:
    "art\\intrface\\di_talk.frm"
     
    • [Rad] [Rad] x 1
  13. phobos2077

    phobos2077 Vault Dweller
    Modder

    708
    Apr 24, 2010
    As Lexx suggested, you can use floor() in place of cast-to-int. SSL follows similar rules as C when multiplying/dividing values: if one is float, then the result is float, otherwise int. So if you want to divide by a whole number and get a float, multiply it by 1.0 first like so: 1.0*x/y.

    If you know you have a float value and you need to convert to int just like C does (discarding the fractional part), use floor or floor2 (read sfall docs for notes on difference).
     
  14. Mulligun

    Mulligun Still Mildly Glowing

    264
    Dec 14, 2006
    Ok big THX:-)
     
    • [Rad] [Rad] x 1
  15. Mulligun

    Mulligun Still Mildly Glowing

    264
    Dec 14, 2006
    I'd like to use the Format function to print a message on the screen. How can I get the proper string length to pass as a fourth parameter? As long as i know F2 engine uses variable - pixel size characters. Is there a way to get exact char width to calculate total string length for the width parameter?

    Thx:-)
     
  16. NovaRain

    NovaRain Casual Modder Modder Moderator

    Mar 10, 2007
  17. Mulligun

    Mulligun Still Mildly Glowing

    264
    Dec 14, 2006
  18. Mulligun

    Mulligun Still Mildly Glowing

    264
    Dec 14, 2006
    Is it possible to call/run external executable (program written in c++ for e.g.) passing it some parameters from F2 script using SFall?
    If so how to do it?

    Thx. for help!
     
  19. NovaRain

    NovaRain Casual Modder Modder Moderator

    Mar 10, 2007
  20. Lexx

    Lexx Testament to the ghoul lifespan
    Moderator Modder

    Apr 24, 2005
    You can't call a program, but you could output data into some .ini file and then have that other program constantly read the file to see if stuff changed. How, no idea, but in theory, probably possible that way.