Fallout 2 mod Fallout 2 Restoration Project 2.2 (Unofficial Expansion)

Discussion in 'Fallout General Modding' started by killap, Jul 21, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Darek

    Darek is currently unavailable

    Jan 7, 2008
    They do work but only while you have them in item slot 1 or 2. It is supposed to represent you actually wearing them.
     
  2. kungfujoe

    kungfujoe First time out of the vault

    83
    Sep 28, 2008
    Ah, shoot, I thought I tried that before posting, but sure enough, that works. Thanks, Darek!
     
  3. lostabroad2

    lostabroad2 First time out of the vault

    66
    Apr 2, 2013
    Any chance of moving the Guns and Bullets magazine in the bookcase in the Shark Club in Reno so that it can be stolen? The easiest solution would be to put it in a different bookcase. The next best solution would be to move the guard away from the bookcase.

    Karma query. Killing prostitutes in Reno gains karma but killing mobsters outside Reno loses karma.
     
  4. CPL

    CPL Still Mildly Glowing
    Modder

    294
    Mar 16, 2013
    Here's a trick that seems to work for me: Give the guard several bottles of booze (if you have it) and use your steal skill on the book case while in sneak mode. It would probably help to have decent levels on those, though.
     
  5. Darek

    Darek is currently unavailable

    Jan 7, 2008
    @ killap,

    Just wanted to say I updated my post about the crashing with Melchiors pets on the previous page. Everything points to it being an issue with multihex critters.
     
  6. AlphaPromethean

    AlphaPromethean Vault Senior Citizen

    Mar 16, 2013
    Uh, I was about to install RP when I am told I can't because my Fallout 2 is installed via steam.

    wat do.
     
  7. lostabroad2

    lostabroad2 First time out of the vault

    66
    Apr 2, 2013
    @CPL, thank you for your reply but i'd already read the Wiki report and tried that. I have Sneak and Steal at base levels, (20% & 30%), but have 99 skill points at my disposal. Even using 10 booze, base sneak, and steal at 110% fails. It doesn't seem to matter what combination level of sneak or steal I have. It seems unlikely that higher levels would be needed. I get the same response even if I use Vic to 'repair' the bookcase or Myron to use his 'science' skill on it. Ironically I can steal from the guard with a very low steal setting.
    The point is that you don't have to do this elsewhere. You can get the magazine from the Desperado, Vault City, and Metzger's office with a 0 steal setting. Steal is on a line of sight basis. If you push an NPC into a position blocking the appropriate guard(s) line of sight and the steal/unlock/open position you'll get a 100% success regardless of skills. You can't do that in the Shark Club because you have to be positioned next to the guard. Hence I suggest moving the magazine and/or guard to bring it into line with the rest of the game.
     
  8. RocketteMorton

    RocketteMorton First time out of the vault

    8
    Sep 14, 2013
    Wait. killap said he's releasing an update that will fix that soon.
     
  9. ul49

    ul49 First time out of the vault

    1
    Sep 14, 2013
    Will this work on the mac GOG version? I'm getting the 'instruction at xxxx failed at memory 0000' error message after running the automatic installer. Maybe I need to do it manually, but not sure which windows version to use for a wineskin.
     
  10. kungfujoe

    kungfujoe First time out of the vault

    83
    Sep 28, 2008
    Killap,

    I'm seeing a handful of issues and potential issues at the EPA:

    The toaster gives your character an ability - normally in Fallout 2, when you get an ability for finishing a task, it shows up in your list of perks, but as far as I can tell, there's no record of this ability at all in your character sheet. Have you considered making a perk for this new ability?

    Unclogging the vents (Violet/yellow level) is really non-intuitive, because the hand icon only appears if you click just on the correct pixel (or small grouping of pixels). The vent itself is very large, so there's no reason why the hand icon should be activated by such a tiny portion of it.

    Kitsune is supposed to be best with unarmed combat and second-best with melee weapons, according to the RP walkthrough. <s>Why can't she use "unarmed" weapons like the Mega Power Fist? I had one to give her, but when I tell her to use her best weapon, she won't equip anything. I haven't tried giving her other weapons yet (regular power fist, spiked knuckles, etc), nor have I entered combat with her yet.</s> EDIT - I realized that she won't equip unarmed weapons because her initial weapons preference is "ranged then melee." Given that her primary skill is unarmed, her secondary is melee, and her lowest divulged combat skill is with small guns, her default preference should be "unarmed." It doesn't make sense for her to first use her worst weapons.
     
  11. Aekell

    Aekell First time out of the vault

    4
    Sep 10, 2013
    Hey Killap. Just wondered whether you have an updated ETA for the new release--has the new high-res patch come out? Might just fire up 2.2 if it's going to be another week or so, then play the new release after this playthrough.
     
  12. leandro213

    leandro213 First time out of the vault

    25
    Mar 16, 2010
    I would assume that as long as people keep reporting *new* bugs, then release would be delayed in an effort to get them fixed.

    Likewise if Killap's source is correct, then I would love to see a newer version of the high res patch included with the next release.

    I wouldn't like to wait months based on a hunch though, but that is his perogative.
     
  13. killap

    killap Bear Dude Moderator Modder

    May 16, 2005
    This could be an endless cycle though. ;)

    My source is the creator of the high res patch himself. We're still working out some kinks.

    I personally don't want to wait much longer on releasing the next RP, so we'll see what happens with the high res release. I'll know better in like a day or so.
     
  14. o4r

    o4r First time out of the vault

    4
    Aug 23, 2005
    BB Bullets

    Something is wrong with it.

    All of the ammo is considered unlimited stored into the car, except one, BB bullets. It actually considered weight while store in the car. Well even the huge and heavy fuel for the flame thrower is considered weightless... why the BB bullets.

    Do you think you can do that change?

    Oh... What is the 9mm bullets for man... I can't find the freaking rifle or pistol for it....

    And in this version when Kaga is near SFC, he is powered armor, whenever I placed my aiming cursor at him, the game will crash.
     
  15. Trephs

    Trephs First time out of the vault

    23
    Aug 18, 2013
    Hello, Killap, any news on the progress? Just seen the new version of high-res arrived.

    Also:
     
  16. killap

    killap Bear Dude Moderator Modder

    May 16, 2005
    Yup, worked with Mash on a last minute bug with it. I'm hoping to package things up this weekend. So Sunday release?

    So for you and others to know, error messages like that are fairly useless, at least to me. However, it's good to know that a crash happened and that some sort of message was shown.

    Anyway, can you consistently produce this crash? Might be a random combat bug in F2.

    Definitely. Thanks for the reminder. I plan to update that page once this next version is out.
     
  17. kungfujoe

    kungfujoe First time out of the vault

    83
    Sep 28, 2008
    Found another bug that I don't think was on the bug report wiki (it is now). I killed AHS-9 and I've aligned myself with the Shi (Ken Lee gives me access to the Emperor every time I ask), but the quest to kill AHS-9 is still active. Here's a savegame where the quest is active but AHS-9 is dead.

    One possible snag (maybe unrelated) - I got access to the Emperor BEFORE I killed AHS-9. When I did their first quest, and told Ken Lee I wanted fuel, he basically said "sure thing, go in the back and use this password." At that point, if I pointedly asked to see the Emperor, he'd tell me I can't do that until I do one more quest for him - kill AHS-9. Could it be that getting access to the Emperor before getting the quest to kill AHS-9 somehow screwed the quest up?
     
  18. Darek

    Darek is currently unavailable

    Jan 7, 2008
    About killing AHS-9...

    In Kenlee's talk procedure there's an added check "and not((global_var(361) bwand 2048) != 0)" that may not be the best.
    That flag is set if you pass the speech check that let's you bypass the shi quests to be allowed to talk to the emperor. You can still do the quests but are not able to finish the AHS-9 one.
    It's also a bit strange that if you have passed that speech check, you can see the emperor if you ask from the main speech tree, but not if you ask from the questions dialog line (I cannot and will not tell where he is).
     
  19. Trephs

    Trephs First time out of the vault

    23
    Aug 18, 2013
    Tried to reproduce it but haven't succeed. Yeah, it seems like random bug.
     
  20. JesterRaiin

    JesterRaiin First time out of the vault

    1
    Sep 22, 2013
    Just registered for sole purpose of thanking You, Killap for your hard work and dedication to the project.

    I'm following it for years, and I feel that it's best thing that happened to F2.

    Thanks Bear, and sleep well during upcoming winter.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.