Fallout 1 mod FO1 to FO2 conversion, for real

Discussion in 'Fallout General Modding' started by Dude101, Nov 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Darek

    Darek is currently unavailable

    Jan 7, 2008
    Yeah got the Vault 13 elevator working. Was very easy once I knew how to. Don't have to add any spatial scripts or anything since it's already there. Just edit inside the script (elevator number from whatever it was to 24 and next one 25 etc and then what Lexx said about elevators.ini).

    By the way Lexx, do you know what the Override elevator is for?
    Or how it works?

    Also, the modified fallout.exe DO NOT work for elevators. It either disabled them on purpose or just totally messed them up.
    sfall elevators crash and normal ones do nothing. Use a normal Fallout2.exe and it works like a charm.

    That creates a new problem, what to do about the starting year?
     
  2. Lexx

    Lexx Background Radiant
    Moderator

    Apr 24, 2005
    Starting date can be set via Sfall as well.

    Code:
    StartYear=2161
    StartMonth=12
    StartDay=5
    Sfall is the modders right hand. ;)
     
  3. Darek

    Darek is currently unavailable

    Jan 7, 2008
    Already tried that, oh wait, I changed ddraw.ini file. :facepalm:
    Thanks.
     
  4. Sduibek

    Sduibek Creator of Fallout Fixt Moderator Modder

    Oct 27, 2010
    I guess that means we can use Fallout2.exe and just rename it to Falloutw.exe. Ha :)

    The problem with doing a patch and expansion/mod separate like Killap does is I see no graceful way to do so. It already takes a lot of time as is, and doing it like he does, from what I can see, would require two copies of all my scripts and dialog files, which to me just seems super crazy and a waste of time.

    Hmm... I think maybe it could be done with just two copies of the scrips, actually, but I really don't want to give a large increase to the amount of time spent on the mod just to satisfy purists (no offense).

    If somebody has ideas how to make it a reasonable amount of work, I'm game and would be okay with it. What I'm envisioning is that every time I fixed a new thing I'd have to add it twice, but customized, which just sounds tedious and annoying.
     
  5. .Pixote.

    .Pixote. Venerable Relic of the Wastes
    Modder

    Sep 14, 2009
    *Sits quietly daydreaming of playing Fallout 1 with the extras of Fallout 2*

    @Sduibek - Maybe just port the original game over to F2, when that is running beautifully, then finish FIXIT.

    IMO having two separate games is preferable - but having the extra critters armors, and animated scenery will be so cool in F1. Mash's appearance mod could also make an appearance. 8-)

    Will the maps dotted trail effect be kept? Also the circles indicating a map location are different in the two game, will that be a problem? In F2 they are overlays, in F1 they are drawn on the actual map, also in F2 there are 3 sizes for the green overlays, F1 uses just the one size, which is stupid.

     
  6. Lexx

    Lexx Background Radiant
    Moderator

    Apr 24, 2005
    I removed the green circles years ago. The files should be in the current build. So the Fo2 circle overlays are working without problems (though, I only "brushed" over the circles and tried to recreate the old locations look. So it is not a pixle-by-pixle recreation).

    The dotted trail effect doesn't exist in Fo2. So unless Timeslip can add it to Sfall, it's not there.

    Btw. I always liked Fo1s big circles. I understand the use of the smaller circles, but ultimately the bigger ones looked more pretty to me (well, except if the location is a small cave, then I would never use a big green circle). Main locations = big, side locations = medium, minor locations = small. That's how I roll.
     
  7. .Pixote.

    .Pixote. Venerable Relic of the Wastes
    Modder

    Sep 14, 2009
    The different sizes were a pretty good indication as to the size of the location. Big for big, and small for small. :P If Timeslip can get that trail working I'll be a very happy man.
     
  8. Sduibek

    Sduibek Creator of Fallout Fixt Moderator Modder

    Oct 27, 2010
    Right? Mmmmm...

    That's a good point. I can use vanilla scripts and dialog files for now. I assume the best plan would be to use the files from TeamX 1.3.5? I don't see anyone would have a problem with that, would they, or should I go with true vanilla files from the original .dats?

    Two separate games meaning a patch and a mod?


    The overlay circles in the current rendition of this conversion look really bad. Plus they fade out badly when moving on or off the edge of the screen. They just kinda suck. I don't know if this is how they look in Fallout 2 or not but it sucks. Needs to be restored to originals (can we just use the map files from Fallout 1?) and the dotted line is a good idea. We want this conversion to be as close to the original as possible, just with expanded features. It still needs to 'feel' like Fallout 1 through and through.
     
  9. NovaRain

    NovaRain Casual Modder Modder

    Mar 10, 2007
    I'd suggest using TeamX's semi-official 1.2.1 + unofficial 1.3.5 patch.
     
  10. Lexx

    Lexx Background Radiant
    Moderator

    Apr 24, 2005
    Hm? The circles should look pretty much the same. As far as I can see, there is no difference between Fo1 -> Fo2 circles, other than Fo2 has different sizes and is more clean due to the fact it isn't losing colors from the whole graphic conversion. You can add them back to the graphic file and overwrite the Fo2 ones with a blank image, but then you won't be able to add new locations, hide existing locations, etc. This limits what you can do with locations a lot.
     
  11. Continuum

    Continuum Vault Fossil

    Nov 8, 2006
    Speaking of circles: Irvin's farm could be done as separate location (with the small circle ;)).

    Does the 1.3.5 patch contain fucked up description_p_proc in some scripts? (I'm too lazy to check it :P) If so, would be cool to fix it too (as well as other stuff that need fixing).
     
  12. .Pixote.

    .Pixote. Venerable Relic of the Wastes
    Modder

    Sep 14, 2009
    I foresee some F1 map cleaning in my future - I want to remove the grid and clean the green circles, etc. The F2 map almost destroyed me, but I'm willing to die again for F1. :violent:
     
  13. Lexx

    Lexx Background Radiant
    Moderator

    Apr 24, 2005
    Better work on the worldmap for my mod and destroy yourself on it. :> At some point I will need a good looking worldmap and my tries always result in sub standard stuff that annoys the hell out of me.
     
  14. Sduibek

    Sduibek Creator of Fallout Fixt Moderator Modder

    Oct 27, 2010
    Example please?
     
  15. Jordan

    Jordan It Wandered In From the Wastes

    May 8, 2008
    Sduibek

    You want to transfer your mod to the engine f2?

    Transfer script is not complicated. I used a preprocessor to restore constants, global variables.

    I have not read the whole thread topic. But if you have questions I will answer them.

    Good luck.

    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?sc70szwua5sslik
     
  16. Continuum

    Continuum Vault Fossil

    Nov 8, 2006
    Here, or here. IIRC I've been working with FIXT files (FIXT includes 1.3.5 patch), and if I'm right then TeamX patch needs to be fixed too :roll:
     
  17. Sduibek

    Sduibek Creator of Fallout Fixt Moderator Modder

    Oct 27, 2010
    Ohhhh those. Yeah I have all the duplicate description scripts tagged as a To-Do, that's always bugged me as well. See:

    Code:
      else begin
        if ((script_action == 21) or (script_action == 3)) then begin//NEED TO FIX THIS, DUPLICATE DESCRIPTIONS IS BULLSHIT. --Sduibek
          script_overrides;
    It won't be particularly exciting, though. 120 scripts have that issue.


    And correct, many bugs still exist in TeamX version. Hence why I've been able to fix something like seventy (stopped counting) and there's more left. Wasteland Ghost would confirm this as well I'm sure.


    If you could elaborate here please. I tried getting the scripts into proper "Fallout 2 format" with both TeamX int2ssl and Noid's decompile/compile exes, both neither of those methods works. int2ssl does nothing useful in that case, Noid does the proper work but removes all comments (which is not okay). What did you use?

    I think maybe since the comments don't compile, I may be forced to lose comments no matter what. If so, that really sucks.
     
  18. Jordan

    Jordan It Wandered In From the Wastes

    May 8, 2008
    I used a preprocessor for your. 961 compiled script.

    Here's a link to the archive.
    http://narod.ru/disk/59679176001.1827905611ec8e948eecd7c8756ddd43/FalloutFIXTScriptSource.7z.html

    The archive source scripts.
    To compile the script click compile.bat
     
  19. Master92

    Master92 It Wandered In From the Wastes

    Dec 26, 2010
    .Pixote
    An intermediate result of tinkering engine... :P

    Some probability that will be possible to change the font color on the Worldmap. 1/177 approximately :D

    UPD: MISSION SUCCESFULL!

    Jordan, hi! Go to Fallout.ru modding lab ;)
     
  20. Darek

    Darek is currently unavailable

    Jan 7, 2008
    @ Lexx

    I got the elevators all set up via sfall, but I can't seem to find the 4 5 6 button elevator (el_mil4.frm). Have you come across that one or should I assume it's missing from sfall?

    Also, I took the liberty to borrow your blank.mve to get around the dream movies, hope that's OK. Hopefully there will be a proper way to fix it though.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.