Mexican Border Wars and US Guns

Discussion in 'General Discussion Forum' started by welsh, May 9, 2008.

1. welsh

welsh Junkmaster

Apr 5, 2003
    Looks like drug wars on the border are getting worse-

1000 deaths is usually what you need to have an "official" war.

And where do the guns come from?

So we have a border trade- Drugs and immigrants come over from Mexico, while guns go over the border to support the drug dealers.

And the gangs and their guns come back over the border into the US.

Seems like a mess.

2. Wooz

Wooz Vault Sweeper Admin Orderite

May 18, 2003
    How is this in any way "news"?

3. welsh

welsh Junkmaster

Apr 5, 2003
    News as of late last April and early May, and not reported here and I am interested in this, and I'm an admin who gets to decide these things.

I think quite a few Americans don't realize that the drug wars and the violence in Mexico is partially due to Americans making a profit off both drug running and weapons smuggling.

This is a case where a US civil right is causing insecurity abroad. That civil right is also threatening the security of the US and another country. And that's because the civil right is not adequately defined.

4. Ah-Teen

Ah-Teen Vault Senior Citizen
    Orderite

Jun 21, 2007
    Given, this article is from canada. Obviously Canada's border is far better protected than the US Mexico border.

Welcome to the world illegal gun trade. Where guns are stolen from homes, and corrupt government officials with keys to city arsenals.

AND SOLD ON THE BLACK MARKET! :D

To tell the truth, I have seriously considered buying guns from illegal dealers. Both because I'm too young to legally buy a handgun, and because I wanted to get a gun off the illegal trade. Then I came to my senses that I would be paying someone who'd just have someone break into another house and steal more guns.

The problem isn't that the US has guns.

-----------